Our Dedicated Members

We simply couldn't do what we do without the generous commitment of our dedicated members.

To serve almost half a million residents of Virginia Beach and almost three million visitors with professional-quality, pre-hospital emergency care for free, we need the complete dedication and hard work of all our members.

VBVRS operational members, from EMT to paramedic, commit to the same training and certifications as professionals. They agree to serve 48 hours a month, usually broken up in four 12-hour duties.

VBVRS support members commit to serving 12 hours a month in different capacities, including office, facility, fund drive, and special event work.

While you’re at it, check out our Life Members, Past Commanders and Honorary Members.

If you’re at least 18 years old and interested in joining us, the proud men and women of the Virginia Beach Volunteer Rescue Squad, click here.

Current Leadership

Travis Smith, Chief
John Neumayer, Captain of Operations
Dale Drescher, Captain of Administration

Susan Bauman, Secretary
Bradford Sauer, Treasurer
Brian Abeyta, Member-at-Large

Sally Whitaker, Member-at-Large
Ronnie Yancey, Member-at-Large

Administrative Officers

Janet Levin, Deputy of Administration
Christina Minkewicz, Lt. of Uniforms
Judy Jackson, Recruitment & Retention Coordinator
Corey Overstreet, Member Newsletter Editor
Ellen McBride, Social Media & Branding Coordinator

Khia Smith, Community CPR Coordinator
Dave Mathews, Lt. of Facilities & Social Events
Ray Ford, Sr., Facilities Officer
Suzanne Sofield, Event Director
Pete Seidler, Parliamentarian
Jack Dye, Honor Guard Officer
Robin Bresnahan, Chaplain

John Doub, Safety Officer
Jay Leach & Richard Doub, Rescue Council Reps
Jonathan Sansone, IT Systems Administrator
Stephanie McKinney, Fund Drive Coordinator
Doris Foster, Historian, Longevity Coordinator, Awards Coordinator

Operational Officers

Brian Abeyta, Deputy of Operations
Austin Phillips, Lt. of Equipment
Corey Overstreet, Lt. of Training

Bob Giesen, Lt. of Supply
Walt Yancey, Lt. of Maintenance
Mike Dempich, Lt. of Special Events

Mike Soto, Lt. of Squad Truck
Susan Bauman, Lt. of Scheduling
Trinity Penny, Vehicle Check-Off Chair

Current Advisors

James Obal, Chairman
John Richardson, Legal Advisor

Tom Gill, Member-at-Large
Courtney Dyer, Vice Chairman

Andy Bedinger, Member-at-Large
Dr. Warren Pechan, Advisor Emeritus

Current Support Members and Volunteers

Tija Begovic
Robin Bresnahan
Becky Chiaradia
Jack Dye
Ray Ford, Sr.
Doris Foster
Melissa Gaudino
Troy Gaudino
Suzanne Gray
Charlie Gurley
Bobby Hill

Terry Hill
Gary Hoffman, Past Chief
Judy Jackson
Joan Jaser
Austin Langhorne
Janet Levin
Lee McCardell
Stephanie McKinney
Mary-Ellen McLean, Foundation/Squad Office Manager
Nena Nerino
Trinity Penny
Blair Whitley Ray

Karen Reed
Jonathan Sansone
Brad Sauer
Larry Shaw
Suzanne Sofield
Marge Standing
Diane Van Campen
Ira Whitehurst
Walt Yancey
Maggie Zontini

Current Operational Members

Brian Abeyta
Adrian Agaran
Sarah Aumiller
Zachary Aydlette
Brittany Ballo
Stephen Baratta
Courtney Barbero
Ronald Bauman
Susan Bauman
Christopher Bazemore
Saam Beheshtzadeh
Daniel Billowitz
Shannon Blount
Donald Bresnahan
Christopher Brown
Norwood Burdett
Crista Busche
Joanna Camacho
Clay Camp
Brooke Cannon
John Carey
Leif Carson
Karen Cassidy
Matt Chiaradia
Anastarshia Colbert
Erin Comerford
Bob Corra
Evan Crawley
Jim Cromwell
Darrah Crow
Matt Davis
Michael Dempich
John Doub, Past Chief
Richard Doub
Dale Drescher
Ryan Drucker
Tori Dupert
Victoria Easter
Kevin Egendorfer
Diana Elliott
Paul Feakins
Caleb Fields
Jesse Yamiolkowski
Ronnie Yancey
Joshua Young
Jake Zelie

Rick Flack, Past Captain
Tex Ford
Ray Ford, Jr.
Samantha Ford
Doug Gibson
Bob Giesen
William Graves, Jr.
Sasha Green
Drew Grehan
April Gressinger
Melinda Griggs
Thomas Gross
Christina Guzman
Tom Harp, Jr., Past Chief
Alexis Harvey
Judy Haynes
Grey Hodges
Abby Hoobler
Caroline Horne
Kelsey Hottle
Ernie Hux
Emilio Ihde
John Irish
Kristin Joynt
William Kautz
Sturgis Kidder
David Klinetop
Cameron Koecher
Mike Lapinski
Jay Leach IV, Past Captain
Paige Leneski
Todd Lewis
James Long, III
Salomon Lopez-Santiago
Chaz Lowery
Amy Lutz-Sexton
Richard Maguire
Leslie Marshall
Thomas Marshall
Dave Mathews
Ellen McBride, Past Chief
Jenni McFarland
Patrick McGinnis
Amy McGrath
Bridgette McNamara
Emily Mills
Christina Minkewicz
Frank Minkewicz
Tyler Mooney
Theresa Moy
Robert Muhly

Mike Mui
David Mundy
Laura Nadolski
John Neumayer
Thanh Nguyen
Corey Overstreet
Wayne Papalski
Jessica Parker
Angela Penney
Paul Pfluegar
Austin Phillips
Tony Pirrone
Haley Power
Diane Reid
Hailey Reid
Heather Richardson
Elizabeth Roetz
Elizabeth Rogers
Cutter Romano
Kim Rose
Andrew Rosenblum
Nicholas Ruszak
Mike Rydberg
Rebecca Rydberg
Alana Sampson
Robert Samuel
Ryan Scholobach
Pete Seidler
Elaina Sherman
Chuck Siegel
Khia Smith
Leslie Smith
Shiloh Smith
Travis Smith
William Snead
Michael Soto
Derek Spitz
Jessica Steer
Robin Stephens
Francesca Stimmell
Janet Stinson
Ashley Stires
Ward Strickland
Anne Svejda
Sherry Talbert
Katherine Taylor
Andrew Thompson
Gregg Tidd
Roy Tydings
Anastasia VonDenDries
Kelly Wahrenburg
Brandon Walker
Catie Walker
Ryan Walker
Katelyn Watson
David Weller
Alexandra Westcott
Mark Westmoreland
Sally Whitaker
Roy White, Jr., Past Chief
Alex Witte
Rebecca Wood
Alexander Wright

Support The Virginia Beach Volunteer Rescue Squad.

Every dollar counts.

You can be the difference that allows us to have the life-saving equipment and supplies we need to answer every cry for help.

Our Fund Drive continues!

Equipment. Medical supplies. Ambulances. Member needs. Community education. Help us answer the call with the things we need by supporting your Virginia Beach Volunteer Rescue Squad. As partners for life—together—we can keep our community safe.  

Learn CPR. Absolutely free.

Did you know that 70% of all sudden cardiac arrests take place in the home? Now you know. Come learn what to do.

Join us. We need you.

Help us help others. And see what a difference it makes in your own life. Start the process by filling out the online application.


You like us. You really like us.

Share how a VBVRS crew rescued you! Tell us your story and we’ll tell you ours, keeping you up to date with all that our crews are doing.